Click here to Skip to main content
Mississippi College - Men's Soccer
Mississippi College - Men's Soccer mobile

Head Coach Kevin Johns

Head Coach Kevin Johns enters his 12th season as the head of the Mississippi College men’s soccer program. In 11 years, Johns has become the winningest coach in MC men’s soccer history and built the program into one of the best in the American Southwest Conference, winning two straight regular season championships in their final two years in the league. Over his career at MC, he has posted a 121-66-23 record.

In 2013, the Choctaws won the American Southwest Conference regular season championship for the second straight year, dropping just one league match all season long. MC finished their last two years in the ASC with a 20-3-2 record in the conference. Despite being ineligible to defend their ASC Tournament championship, Johns led the Choctaws to the National Christian College Athletic Association Tournament, earning two draws. Six Choctaws were named to the All-ASC Teams, led by goalkeeper Adam Pittman, who was named ASC Defensive Freshman of the Year. Adrian Moreno, Brian Vasquez and Pittman were named to the First Team, while Francisco De Anda and Harrison Russell were Second Team selections. Oscar Delgado rounded out the list with an Honorable Mention nod.

The Choctaws had, arguably, their most successful season in school history in 2012, winning their first-ever ASC championship, along with the league tournament title. Johns was named the ASC Coach of the Year as MC needed two penatly kick victories to win the tournament at Longabaugh Field. The Choctaws advanced to the NCAA Regional, defeating Whitworth (1-0) in the first round, before bowing out to Trinity (TX) in PK's. Seven Choctaws earned All-ASC honors, led by Julio Cesar Espinal, Robert Jackson, Daniel Lang and Brian Vasquez being named to the First Team. Vasquez was also named an NSCAA All-American and All-West Region performer. Harrison Russell was an All-West Region honoree, as well as, a Second Team All-ASC performer. BJ Williams (Third Team) and Hugo Flores (Hon. Mention) also earned All-ASC honors.

The 2011 season saw the Choctaws qualify for their sixth consecutive ASC Tournament, going 14-3-3, including a win streak of seven games over the final month.  MC also did not lose a match over the final 10, tying the final three of the season.  Brian Vasquez was named the ASC Offensive Freshman of the Year, while seven other Choctaws earned All-Conference honors.  Ben Cross and Rafael Guzman joined Vasquez on the First Team.  Vasquez and Cross were also named to the All-Region Team by NSCAA.

In 2010, the Choctaws advanced to their second ASC Tournament Championship game in five years as MC faced Texas-Tyler for the automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament.  The Choctaws allowed the fewest goals in school history with on 12 GA on the season and finished the year with a school record 12 shutouts.  Seven Choctaws earned All-ASC honors with Michael Cooper and Barry Prather being named to the First Team.

In 2009, the Choctaws made their fourth consecutive trip to the ASC Tournament, finishing 12-4-4.  Forward Michael Cooper set MC single-season records for goals with 20 and led the conference, while earning ASC Offensive Player of the Year honors.  Six Choctaws finished with All-ASC honors on the season with Cooper and Tyler Wade earning First Team selections.

In 2008 under Johns leadership, senior forward Phillip Buffington tied the ASC record for goals scored with 56 goals in just 54 games. Senior defender Keith Armstrong also earned ASC Defensive Player of the Year honors on his way to his fourth straight All-ASC season. Both players are receiving interest from different professional organizations across the country and are expected to sign contracts this offseason.

In 2006, the Choctaws went 14-5-3 and reached the ASC Championship Game for the first time in the program’s history. The Choctaws lost in the final 2-1 to Hardin-Simmons University. The Choctaws have reached the ASC Championship Tournament in each of the last four seasons.

During his tenure as a JFC coach, Johns managed to win more club soccer state championships than any other coach in Mississippi history. During his thirteen years as a club coach, Johns produced 21 state championships in men and women’s soccer in ages ranging from 11-18. Johns’ under-19 boys team in 2006 was the first team in MYSA (Mississippi Youth Soccer Association) history to win nine consecutive state championships. Johns also served as Director of Coaching for Jackson Futbol Club in 2002-2003.

During the 1997-98 seasons, Johns gained experience in the professional ranks as the assistant head coach and assistant general manager of the Jackson Chargers. Johns also served as the head coach on road trips for the now defunct minor league team. Johns also was the Head Coach for the women’s program at St. Andrew’s High School from 1995-1997. He led St. Andrews to a semifinal appearance in the MHSAA state tournament.

Johns spent his collegiate playing career with the Belhaven Blazers, a NAIA scholarship school. With the Blazers, he spent four years under the leadership of Pete Fuller, now the head coach at the University of Mobile. During his career at Belhaven, the Blazers won the 1992 NAIA National Championship.

Johns currently holds a USSF B license and his National Youth license.